RIVER BANDITS02000002X4100

Tarboro River Bandits Clinches Lead In Eighth Inning For Victory Over Wake Forest Fungo In 2021 PCL Championship

Friday, August 6, 2021 – Tarboro, NC

Tarboro River Bandits took the lead late and defeated Wake Forest Fungo 4-3 on Friday. The game was tied at three with Tarboro River Bandits batting in the bottom of the eighth when Tarboro River Bandits scored one run on a stolen base.

Wake Forest Fungo opened up scoring in the second inning. Hogan Stallings drove in one when Stallings doubled.

Will Smith led the Tarboro River Bandits to victory on the pitcher’s mound. The pitcher surrendered three runs on six hits over eight innings, striking out seven and walking one. Eli Culbreth threw one inning in relief out of the bullpen.

Kei Yamagishi took the loss for Wake Forest FungoYamagishi went one and two-thirds innings, allowing two runs on three hits, striking out one and walking one.

Jayson Arendt started the game for Wake Forest Fungo. The righthander allowed seven hits and two runs over six and a third innings, striking out ten

Tarboro River Bandits racked up ten hits on the day. Mike Dolberry Jackson Cherry, and Dane Hoggard each collected multiple hits for Tarboro River BanditsHoggardCherry, and Dolberry each collected two hits to lead Tarboro River BanditsTarboro River Bandits was sure-handed and didn’t commit a single error. Levis Aguila made the most plays with nine.

Wake Forest Fungo totaled seven hits in the game. Thomas Fox and Stallings all had multiple hits for Wake Forest FungoWake Forest Fungo didn’t commit a single error in the field. Bryan Arendt had the most chances in the field with 12.

“Powered by Narrative Science and GameChanger Media. Copyright 2021. All rights reserved.”

Congratulations to the Tarboro River Bandits, your 2021 Premier Collegiate League Champions.

The River Bandits finished the regular season in first place and went into the post season tournament as the number one seed in the eastern division. After a first round loss, the River Bandits bounced back to win three straight and the 2021 PCL Eastern Division Championship, sending them to the league championship game, where they came out victorious, with a hard fought 4 – 3 win and the 2021 PCL Championship.

Congratulations to the Wake Forest Fungo on a great season, finishing the regular season in first place and carrying their one seed into the post season tournament, where they emerged as the 2021 PCL Western Division Champions and competed until the final out in the 2021 PCL League Championship Game.


Wake Forest Fungo
Jayson Arendt310002
Josh Hoffman411001
Bryan Arendt300003
Tristan Marsh311000
Hogan Stallings402300
Thomas Fox402000
Caleb Fluno301010
Ryan Warren400002
Will Gamble400001
Kei Yamagishi

Batting 2B: Josh Hoffman, Hogan Stallings
3B: Tristan Marsh
TB: Caleb Fluno, Thomas Fox 2, Josh Hoffman 2, Tristan Marsh 3, Hogan Stallings 3
RBI: Hogan Stallings 3
HBP: Jayson Arendt, Bryan Arendt, Tristan Marsh
Totals Team QAB: 12 (33.33%)
Bryan Arendt, Caleb Fluno, Thomas Fox 2, Josh Hoffman, Tristan Marsh 2, Hogan Stallings 2, Ryan Warren 3

Team LOB: 6 Fielding DP: Thomas Fox

Tarboro River Bandits
Anthony Sherwin401001
Nick Hussey400000
Levis Aguila401002
Jackson Cherry312011
Mike Dolberry422002
Dane Hoggard412001
Pete Cosentino401103
Cam Hassert300210
Kevin Jones201011
Andrew Casey
Eli Culbreth
Ethan Fewell
Ben Jones
Zach Mallia
Camden Noble
Julian Parson
Tanner Smith
Will Smith

Batting 2B: Dane Hoggard, Anthony Sherwin
TB: Levis Aguila, Jackson Cherry 2, Pete Cosentino , Mike Dolberry 2, Dane Hoggard 3, Kevin Jones, Anthony Sherwin 2
RBI: Pete Cosentino , Cam Hassert 2
FC: Cam Hassert
GIDP: Dane Hoggard
SB: Dane Hoggard
Totals Team QAB: 17 (48.57%)
Levis Aguila, Jackson Cherry, Pete Cosentino 2, Mike Dolberry 3, Cam Hassert, Dane Hoggard, Nick Hussey, Kevin Jones 3, Anthony Sherwin 4

Team LOB: 7

Wake Forest Fungo
Jayson Arendt6.1107.6267221020
Kei Yamagishi1.234.676322110

Pitching L: Kei Yamagishi
Pitches-Strikes: Jayson Arendt 107-67, Kei Yamagishi 34-23
Groundouts-Flyouts: Jayson Arendt 3-5, Kei Yamagishi 1-1
First pitch strikes-Batters faced: Jayson Arendt 13-27, Kei Yamagishi 6-8

Tarboro River Bandits
Will Smith8.0115.704633710
Eli Culbreth1.017.647100200
Camden Noble0.00.000000000

Pitching W: Will Smith
HBP: Will Smith 3
Pitches-Strikes: Eli Culbreth 17-11, Camden Noble 0-0, Will Smith 115-81
Groundouts-Flyouts: Eli Culbreth 1-0, Camden Noble 0-0, Will Smith 2-13
First pitch strikes-Batters faced: Eli Culbreth 2-4, Camden Noble 0-0, Will Smith 22-32


  • AB: At bats
  • R: Runs scored
  • H: Hits
  • RBI: Runs batted in
  • BB: Base on balls (walks)
  • SO: Strikeouts
  • 2B: Doubles
  • 3B: Triples
  • HR: Home runs
  • Grand slam: Grand slam home runs
  • TB: Total bases
  • RBI: Runs batted in
  • SAC: Sacrifice hits & bunts
  • SF: Sacrifice flies
  • ROE: Reached on error
  • FC: Hit into fielder’s choice
  • HBP: Hit by pitch
  • CI: Batter advances on catcher’s interference
  • GIDP: Hit into double play
  • GITP: Hit into triple play
  • SB: Stolen bases
  • CS: Caught stealing
  • PIK: Picked off
  • QAB: Quality at bats (any one of: 3 pitches after 2 strikes, 6+ pitch ABs, XBH, HHB, BB, SAC Bunt, SAC Fly)
  • QAB%: Quality at bats per plate appearance
  • LOB: Runners left on base at the end of an inning
  • E: Errors
  • DP: Double Plays
  • TP: Triple Plays
  • IP: Innings Pitched
  • #P: Total pitches
  • S%: Strike percentage
  • H: Hits allowed
  • R: Runs allowed
  • ER: Earned runs allowed
  • SO: Strikeouts
  • BB: Base on balls (walks)
  • HR: Home runs allowed
  • W: Wins
  • L: Losses
  • SV: Saves
  • BS: Blown saves
  • HBP: Hit batters
  • WP: Wild pitches
  • BK: Balks